SPACESYNTH.NET: Reviews
Synthesizer Music For Space People

http://www.spacesynth.net/Review

Printed: 26.06.2017 04:58:30

Some of the reviewed releases are rated by alien heads (0 to 5 heads). The reviews and rates try to be truthful and tell as well the good things and bad things. Also some reviews say that the release is recommended. Such releases are recommended purchases for fans or people who are new to this music. True fans of course collect all the releases regardless how they are reviewed or rated.. :)

Reviews

10.06.2012
There is always something special when the old legends are back in business. They are familiar to every fan, they are inspiration to many, young musicians are trying to follow their footsteps. Like now, when Rygar, a spacesynth duo formed by two legendary spacesynth musicians Michiel van der Kuy and Rob van Eijk, is back with their officially first album. Every spacesynth fan is familiar with their background, and now especially spacesynth hits like "Star Tracks" and "Space Raiders". So, how does new Rygar sound in 2012?
21.11.2011
Galaxion (Antti Hakala) has had an eventful year musically with the successful cooperation with his singing sister Martta, and now recently the release of his debut spacesynth album on Alpha Centauri records.
11.11.2011
"One and All" is propably the most interesting album by Anosphere so far. Even though it is stylistically very much like the previous albums, it offers also some different and interesting aspects.
12.10.2010
Anosphere alias Stefan Bieri's third album has been released in 2009, so it was about time to review it. The album is more dancey to my ears than his previous albums. Not too much, if you ask me. It still sounds spacesynth music with the same mood and twist as we have get used to from him.
13.08.2010
23.11.2009
The debut album by Lauri Turjansalo, alias Dreamtime, is one of the most anticipated albums of this decade in the spacesynth world. That is because of the very good quality material he has offered us from the past releases. Now the waiting is over and it is time to look and listen to what kind of package the album entitled Farout really offers.
22.10.2009
Marek Adamczyk alias A.M. Samurai is a well known spacesynth musician from the several past releases. This year he completed his debut album and released it through Space Sound Records. It has been about three months since the release so it is about the time to review it.
08.10.2009
"The Hunter at the far end of the galaxy" takes us on a guided journey through space and time. On what class do we travel musically?
12.04.2009
21.03.2009
A sunny midsummer evening two and a half years ago I was stunned by a festival-concert. Four Basildon lads had just performed a seamless & professional one, still with their hearts out in the open for the audience to embrace. My love for Depeche Mode (DM) thus was set in stone. I love spacesynth too by the way. Imagine then my delight in discovering Spacesound Records' plans about assembling the top notch of spacesynth artists to make their own cover versions of handpicked songs of DM! Finally the album is out. Now, does Spacesound succeed in meeting my great expectations, by taking me back to the state of that summer night made possible by such quality and passion?
18.11.2008
What we have here is traditional 80s music with distinct and clean sounding basslines. Unfortunately there's already plenty of this type of music and, for me, the album doesn't stand out enough. But it's well done 80s music and replicates that 80s feeling and style superbly.
16.03.2008
28.06.2007
Sometimes you run into a piece of music that shows potential but lacks something important to be good. I usually don't let mediocre soundquality ruin my listening experience, especially if the music is well composed. But unfortunately with the debut album of Cyber Space odd leveling of sounds and mediocre melodic content prevent me from getting a fully pleasant experience.
25.06.2007
08.05.2007
16.12.2006
Thomas Gillert aka Spaceraider entered the spacesynth universe in 2004 with his album 'Journey into Space'. It somewhat suffered from low production quality but made clear Thomas' compositional skills. Thomas has now teamed up with Marek Kolodynski, a DJ living in the USA, who is a co-producer of the album and is for example responsible for the lyrics on vocoder tracks. Space Project's first album 'Beyond Imagination' reminds strongly of Spaceraider 'Journey into Space' sound but takes a leap forward - both musically and technically.
13.11.2006
The brilliant album cover made by Kaisu Airaksinen (Mark Vera's younger sister) definitely makes this to an interesting album. Electron has been very generous during the latest time and giving us the chance to download many of their songs for free on the web, therefore we are all familiar with their music and we knew that we could expect high quality music from them this time. The release of this album has been mentioned in the forums for almost a year now and let's go through the album part by part and see if it was worth the long waiting.
25.09.2006
So finally the eighth volume of Hypersound's successful Synthesizer Dance collection serie is available. The initial idea with these albums was to give new artists a chance to release their songs on a album before they had enough material for a complete album. This must have changed during the years as half of the songs on this album are made by Gustaf Grefberg and Humphrey Robertson which both have released solo albums during the years. Probably the need for this kind of album is not so big any longer as some of the artists will probably release own albums soon anyhow.
26.09.2005
Vocoderion is the first woman composer doing spacesynth and this makes her album, "Biomechanical Structure", unique. This is also one of the last releases by AXIS Records before the company changed name into Alpha Centauri.
24.09.2005
Space Travels is promoted as a tribute to the masters of spacesynth so I had a pretty good idea what the album would sound like. Synthesis takes a stab at classic Laserdance style using same tempos, similar sounds and arrangements. Sometimes Synthesis is trying to be even too much like the predecessors because the album suffers from same symptoms as some classic tracks.
02.08.2005
It is great to see that the pioneers of spacesynth, Rob and Michiel, are back with the same productivity as they had back in the 80s. This album was available just one year after their previous album Jupiter Beyond was released. Therefore it was interesting to hear if also this album would bring some fresh ideas to the genre.
02.08.2005
The album cover and the name Xain gives the album a quite anonymous impression, but don't let the cover mislead you. If the cover would have been made by a real artist and if the name of the musician would have been Lizardking, or Gustaf Grefberg, then I'm sure that the album would have given a more interesting impression. People that have followed Gustaf Grefberg's contribution to Hypersound's Synthesizer Dance serie knows what we could expect from this album.
31.07.2005
When this album was released I felt that I didn't need to hear the soundsample at Hypersound's website before I bought the album, as these musicians have only been released good music on their previous albums. My expectation of this album was quite high, and when I saw the impressive album cover my expectation went even higher...